About

In order to get a better feel for what this blog is going to be about, here is a little bit about me. I completed by undergraduate degree in 2007 at the University of Guelph, majoring in Environmental Toxicology. Since then I have been working towards my PhD in Environmental Toxicology…at the University of Guelph. As you can probably gether, I like Guelph, and I like environmental toxicology, but what is environmental toxicology. Environmental toxicology, or ecotoxicology, is an interdisciplinary science that has its roots in toxicology, ecology, biology, biochemistry, analytical and environmental chemistry, statistics, and even social sciences. Ecotoxicology aims to characterize, understand, and predict the effects that chemicals will have on plant and animal populations, communities, and whole ecosystems. My research focus has been on understanding the environmental fate and toxicity of brominated flame retardants. I used the Guelph Microcosm Facility to assess the degradation, partitioning, bioaccumulation, and toxic effects of these compounds under realistic, and environmentally relevant conditions. Over the next couple of weeks I hope to talk a bit more about environmental fate, brominated flame retardants, microcosms, and assessing toxicity.

Leave a Reply

